Puppy farms and pig farms equal?

I know it’s Mofo but whilst perusing the local metro newspaper on my journey home a couple of stories stood out to me.  So I thought I’d share…

The first being a statement by celebrity chef Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, a man known for his rather daring palate when it comes to food, including things such as curried fruit bat in the past.  In a recent interview with the Radio Times he declared: ‘In principle but not in practice, I have no objection to a high welfare organic puppy farm.  You can’t object , unless you also object to the farming of pigs.  It’s an artificial construct of our society, a cultural decision, to make pets out of dogs and meat out of pigs.’

My opinion of this man has just increased, he points out the absurdity of placing one animal above the other.  Just because one species is cute (most of the time) and outwardly affectionate (again, most of the time) doesn’t mean that other species are less deserving of our regard.

I’m aware that this is my take on his comments and am sure that although he has undertaken 5 months as a vegetarian and is actively fighting for better farming methods of both fish and chickens he may possibly return to eating meat.  I think its great that it has started a debate within the mainstream media to get people thinking.

I couldn’t find a link to the metro article so here’s one to the guardian instead:  http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/foodanddrinknews/8818975/Hugh-Fearnley-Whittingstall-eating-puppy-meat-is-no-worse-than-pork.html#disqus_thread

The second story was only a short one but rather disheartening.  It was that of a young boy aged 11 who had been given a few pigs to raise.  His parents were worried he’d become to attached so told him not to name them but he had already come up with names by himself: iPhone, iPad and other goods he planned to buy when they were sold for meat.  I found it a little sad that he was able to detach so easily from the animals and see them only as a monetary outcome.

That’s the news round up for today.  What are your thoughts on these stories?

2 thoughts on “Puppy farms and pig farms equal?

  1. I read that Hugh had gone vegetarian and thought I’d read it wrong but it seems it’s true! I hope he does stick with it or at least talk about it positively in the future. And his comment is correct, more people need to care about all animals not just the ones that we consider cute enough to keep as pets.

    And that story about the boy and his pigs is sad, I wonder he’s made the connection that selling them for meat = having them slaughtered?

Leave a Reply

