Babycakes

I’ve been beyond excited to whip up some of the fabulous looking treats from babycakes since I picked up the  book a few months ago.

The book itself is wonderfully inspiring with glorious pictures and anecdotes from celebrity customers.  A wide variety of ideas for vegan, mostly gluten-free and mostly sugar-free recipes.

It gives three simple rules for baking when using the book:

  1. Read the recipe all the way through
  2. Identify and prepare all necessary ingredients
  3. Be precise. Follow directions as closely as possible.

We choose to try the meyer lemon and cherry cupcakes and the first thing I noticed was the vast amount of agave required, 400ml! That’ll make up for the lack of sugar then 🙂

Acquiring the ingredients required for the recipe we choose was something of a feat in itself, and a relatively pricey one at that, particularly the soy milk powder required for the icing at nearly £10!  I don’t know if it’s just because we’re on the other side of the pond or if these items are obscure in general but the local health food shop even had to order some things in for us.

They were also out of coconut oil when we went in and me being an eager beaver decided to ask my old pal google for alternatives (rule two broken!)  It said that butter would substitute so we went ahead with what we had (and rule three broken – eek.)

I wish we had waited as the result looked and smelled delicious but ended up being a tad dry, I wonder if the oil would have improved the texture.  Also as the icing also required coconut oil we had to hold off making that as well, which would have definitely added another element to the overall taste.

So as the old adage goes ‘fools rush in!’

I’ll do an update when they’re topped with icing – Coconut oil is being procured as I type 🙂

(I’m aware that I said this would be posted yesterday – I had a temporal time lapse occur in which I fell asleep at the same time as my children – bad times when you have work coming out of your ears and the evening when you have the peace to do it! Ah well catch up day it is 🙂 )

2 thoughts on “Babycakes

  1. I made the chocolate chip cookies last winter. I didn’t have all the “necessary” ingredients so I used some substitutions. Um…spongy is probably the best word to describe. I’ve been meaning to post about them, and maybe I will, but don’t get yourself down. I tried again with the exact ingredients and utensils and I made…well…little hockey pucks. They weren’t harder than any store bought cookie, like a Chips Ahoy, but I like soft baked. Before I ever dreamed of moving to NYC, I was so super excited when I made a trip up here and insisted on going to BabyCakes. I got a cupcake top. Their icing really is so yummy! The cookie, it turned out, tasted just like my second go. I was simultaneously relieved and really disappointed. The only other time since then that I’ve had the cookies was as an ice cream sandwich at STOGO in the city. Sandwiched around some vegan ice cream, they start to soften up. I’m not hating on them, though. McKenna is doing something amazing. To be vegan and gluten-free! The thing I really do want to try is their cornbread, though. So def make their icing for cupcakes…and maybe their cookies if you have a pint of vegan ice cream on hand.

    • Thanks so much for the comment 🙂 I like soft baked cookies too, there are a few recipes I’ve seen online that claim to be beautiful and doughy so I’ll have to give those a whirl. I’ll definitely whip up a batch of the icing though – thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

