Quick vegan lunch ideas

The past few days have flown by in a whir of work, appointments and my gorgeous but tiring kiddiewinks. At times like this I have my go to quick fixes, with peanut butter and jam sandwiches currently being at the top of my list of lunchtime ‘meals’ that take 10 seconds or less.  This is closely followed by the old classic beans on toast (although 10 seconds might be a tad optimistic its still super quick).

Here are my top 5 quick lunches:

  1. Peanut butter and jam (no 1 for sheer speed!)
  2. Baked beans on toast
  3. Houmous and salad on pitta
  4. Sun-dried tomato and soya bean baguette (recipe posted last week)
  5. Noodles with frozen veg and vegan bouillion (takes 5 minutes to cook and finito!)

When in doubt of vegan sandwich fillers I always find that pickles pack a punch (whether that be beetroot, pickled onions or a pre-mixed pickle sauce) along with salad and a base like houmous, vegan cheese or veggies.

They’re not going to win masterchef that’s for sure but when you’re in a rush and you need something fast my fall-back menu saves the day every time. With a sandwich, a handful of dried fruit, a soya yogurt and an apple in my bag, I’m out the door in no time.

I’ll have to post my more leisurely lunches another day 🙂

This weekend will see me writing about my most cherished kind of cooking again – desserts! I’ll be reviewing a few things from ‘Baby Cakes’ NYC bakery cook book and sharing my own peach and strawberry crumble recipe.

What are your favourite quick lunch ideas? Hope you all have a great weekend!

One thought on “Quick vegan lunch ideas

Leave a Reply

